25th Annual Award Ceremony

Since 1992, The Bay Institute has recognized individuals who have helped us achieve our mission through exceptional efforts to improve and inspire conservation of the San Francisco Bay-Delta Estuary and its watershed, from the Sierra to the sea. Each year, The Bay Institute honors these individuals with awards in three categories: education, reporting, and extraordinary accomplishment.


May 18, 2017

Bay Model Visitor Center
2100 Bridgeway
Sausalito, California


Buy Tickets Today>

Meet This Year’s Awardees

Lifetime Achievement Award
Fred Keeley
Former Speaker pro Tempore, California Assembly
Fred Keeley is a former member of the California State Assembly, representing the Monterey Bay Area.  He is a recognized leader in the development and implementation of ocean protection and enhancement law and policy in California.  In that capacity, Fred authored the California Marine Life Management Act, which established an ecosystem based approach for California ocean fishery management, and he was principal co-author of the California Marine Life Protection Act, which resulted in establishing California’s world-class network of Marine Protected Areas.  He authored the California Ocean Resources Stewardship Act with established the California Ocean Science Trust – the scientific arm of the California Ocean Protection Council.

Fred served as Speaker Pro Tem of the California Assembly and authored the two largest California park and environmental protection bonds in the nation’s history, totaling $4.6 billion.  He currently serves on the boards of the California Ocean Science Trust, Ocean Champions and is on the staff of the Leon Panetta Institute.   Fred donated his services as the Master of Ceremonies of the Bay Institute’s 2014 Celebration of Marine Protected Areas, and he helped design and moderate our Community Leader Panel at the Bay Institute’s Golden State Waters Action Summit, in 2016.


Carla Bard Bay Education Award
Doris Sloan, Ph.D.
Retired Adjunct Professor Dept. of Earth and Planetary Science at UC Berkeley

Doris Sloan is a retired Adjunct Professor in the Dept. of Earth and Planetary Science at UC Berkeley.  She has an MS in geology and a PhD in paleontology from UC Berkeley.  She taught geology and environmental science at UC Berkeley and wrote Geology of the San Francisco Bay Region, published in 2006 by the University of California Press in their California Natural History Series. Her research has focused on the geological history of San Francisco Bay, which led to her activism on its behalf. She became a member of Save the Bay (then the Save San Francisco Bay Association), joined its Board of Directors, and served as its president. She is a founding member of Citizens for East Shore Parks (CESP), which has been successful in its efforts to establish McLaughlin East Shore Park.


Harold Gilliam Award
Matt Weiser
Journalist, Contributing Editor, Water Deeply
Matt Weiser is a contributing editor at Water Deeply and helped launch the organization as its first managing editor in June 2015. He has covered environmental issues in California for 30 years as a reporter, editor and freelance writer. From 2005 to 2015, he covered water, flood control and natural resources at The Sacramento Bee newspaper, where he earned numerous awards for his reporting.


Bay Hero Awards
Design, Project Management and Research Team
Oro Loma Sanitary District and Castro Valley Sanitary District Boards of Directors
Building the Horizontal Levee would have been impossible without the vision and talent of these agencies. Rather than continuing with business as usual, these individuals met the serious challenge of sea level rise with their own challenge to conventional practices. The Horizontal levee truly integrates nature into wastewater treatment infrastructure in a way that has never been done. The agencies went out on a political limb to promote the project in the best spirit of public service in response to a crisis. And the engineers reimagined treatment methodology when the old ways were being pushed to their limits. Those that conceived and engineered this innovative project deserve widespread recognition, while others should be inspired by their example.